{.upcycling sarina.}

by devourslowly

There is a time to call someone an overbearing dish-pot, and there is a time not to.

P G Wodehouse, Much Obliged, Jeeves

One of my 2010 resolution is to live a greener, more sustainable life.

I spent my Christmas New Years break downsizing, recycling, de-cluttering and pulling my hair out to achieve a clutter-free zen-ish life.  In between manic sorting, throwing, keeping and reminiscing, I took time to drink cold tea and visit lifestyle and organisation blogs to get tips on cutting clutter.  Incidentally, I am now addicted to the famed Apartment Therapy that glamourises smart small-space living.  I also think every woman can learn a great deal about belongings, style and sense of self by reading the wardrobe downsize guide by bits+bobbins.

Each week bags and bags of surplus items left my apartment finding new homes in charity shops, friends’ houses and local libraries.  It is incredible how much stuff one can manage to accumulate.  It is also disheartening to know that this is not the first time I had de-cluttered my flat.  I must work on my shopping habits!

After reading about how others are living a sustainable lifestyle to help the environment, I made a firm resolution to be more eco-friendly from now on.  Apartment Therapy and Re-nest offer some great green advice.  It is always wonderful to read something and then come away being able to see my world anew.

Over the last few weeks I slowly introduced some green household rules.  H seems to bear with it quite well so far.  Vegetable peels and off cuts now go into a freezer bag for making stock at the end of the week, all recycle-able containers now get separated from the main household rubbish, all glass food jars get upcycled and reused (I particularly like this project), coffee-grounds get stored in the fridge as a de-ordouriser … the list hopefully will keep growing.

I am reminded however of the differences between being eco-friendly and simply being a hoarder.  It is hard to keep your life simple and clutter free while being sentimental.  Many blogs out there speak about pinpointing exactly what it is that elicits the particular sentiment and then letting go of the material good.  I am still having trouble letting go of a set of Black and Decker power-drills that I inherited from my mother.  The battery has since died and B&D had long made that particular type of battery obsolete.  I am sure if my mother was still around she would shake her head and tell me I am being silly but I still keep it under the cupboard … There is no particular reason for it.  The set serves no function whatsoever.  I suspect the only reason I keep it is because it once belonged to mum and I miss her very much.

