{.no-so-vintage afternoon.}

by devourslowly

During unreasonably heavy Auckland downpours, I have a predilection for vintage movies and TV shows.  I would cocoon myself with a beautiful blanket I procured years ago from Harrowset Hall on Nuffield.  It is not a very warm blanket but it is of a delicately beautiful French shabby-chic style.  I saved so long for it, sometimes I am not so sure if even my soul is worth that much.  I guess the shear luxury of it all instantly warms me up as I lazily lounge on mum’s old couch with Soufflé sleeping in my arms and the DVD player running a vintage movie or TV show.  My favourites range from anything with Audrey Hepburn to Peter Seller’s Sherlock Holmes, from Alfresco that launched Stephen Fry and Hugh Laurie’s careers to their final ITV collaboration of Jeeves and Wooster.

I realised last weekend that it had been a long time since Auckland had a properly fierce shower.  Feeling nostalgic and mostly bored with nothing to do, I decided to get cracking with a couple of vintage movies on iTunes.  iTunes New Zealand has a very limited selection of movies and absolutely no TV series for purchasing.  It always strike me as incredible that we are one of the first people to see the rising sun each day yet in terms of popular media releases, we are still in the Stone Ages.

Anyway, I digress.  I went through two movies while H was away at cricket.  IQ and The Man with One Red Shoe.

Neither movie are THAT old to be considered vintage.  I chose them because I just wanted to bum around watching something corny.  I love corny.  Corny usually does me very well.  Both movies are incredibly unrealistic but terribly charming.  Besides there is nothing better than staying at home with Stephen Fry, Walter Matthau and a young Tom Hanks.    Especially a young Tom Hanks – before he started brewding in front of the camera.

I started wondering whatever happened to the TV and movies industry?  Most programmes and movies have to be: unrealistically dramatic, shame-based, terribly exposing and or gun-and-violence-ladened in order to attract decent viewership.  I miss the days when TV and movies had the power to transform us into a world where everything is pleasant and everyone nice.  Sometimes would criticise these programming practises as unrealistic and out-of-touch.  I prefer to look at it from the out-side-in.  Responsible programming should consider that people are inadvertently influenced by what they see on TV or at the movie theatres.  Instead of making the argument that the society affects the content of TV and movies, we could all benefit from the more upbeat thought that TV and movies have the power of educating and transforming its viewers.

I preach, but you know I am right.

