{.peppers.}

by devourslowly

Courtesy of Peppers Retreat Resorts & Hotels @ http://www.peppers.co.nz/

M and S have kindly invited us to their MARTINBOROUGH wedding over Labour weekend.  I am just over the moon.  Well, I am happy for M and S tying the knot too.  But most of all, the wedding is at MARTINBOROUGH!  Part of the Wairarapa region, Martinborough is quite possibly my favourite place in New Zealand.

A township found by John Martin in the 19th century, Martinborough is a quaint little town on the other side of the Rimutaka Ranges that is a destination ideal for weekend getaways.  From an aerial view, the streets leading in and out of the town square form the pattern of the Union Jack.

Right in the middle of town is where we are staying.  At the historical hotel – Peppers Martinborough.  I had again requested to be put in the Cameron Room.  The Cameron Room overlooks the town square and is at the quieter end of the building.  October is particularly a good time to be staying there as the sun takes its time to get to that side of the building.  One could still enjoy the crisp morning air and a good dose of Martinborough chill (it is a Kiwi thing).  One of the gorgeousness of Peppers is that it has womens’ names for rooms rather than the traditional numbering system.  Each room had been individually decorated to a particular vintage theme with at least one piece of furniture that is a genuine antique.  The reading room downstairs is tastefully decorated with leather sofas adorned with cushions and many many books.

Martinborough is home to some of my favourite New Zealand vineyards.  Craggy Range does a beautiful Bordeux Red, the Sophia, that tempts me back to their cellar door year in and year out.  The Cabernet Merlot from Scubert on Cambridge is always a must-buy.  Olivo on the other end of the golf course produces olive oil and products that are marvellously delicate to the taste-bud.

I have cunningly persuaded H to stay one more night after the wedding at Martinborough so we could dine at Wendy Campbell’s Bistro.  I like to say my previous experience there was sublime but that would be pretentious but the food is really very good.  Last time I was there I had a dish that is sort of like a white fish bisque.  It was a lot lighter than a traditional bisque but just as flavourful. To make it all up to H I will have to take him to the town pub after dinner, hopefully there will be a game of ruggers on TV or something.  Yes I must remember to do that.

Gosh… all these talking about Peppers – I can’t wait till October now!  Maybe I should use one of those widgets that does a daily countdown on my Google homepage…

