{.persona personae.}

by devourslowly

I have been doing a lot of work on Cinnamon Spoon lately.  Sporadic, but time-consuming all the same.  Having to each myself online marketing I was most pleased to come across this article by scoutie  girl.  I read her premise as basically:  in order to continuously and successfully market oneself online, one has to craft a persona consistent to the real self and provide information of value and interest in order to sustain the online relationship forgeds.  Phew!  That was a mouthful.  You will find that le mot juste is something I am quite without.  Scoutie girl speaks of messages and images being propelled by relationships.  I must admit I have never thought of it that way.  Perhaps I should make more of an effort to be friends with my blog readers.

It got me thinking really.  Online marketing (whether commercial or personal) can be incredibly powerful.

I am sure I am not the first one to have said this.

More common than not, a blog or a Facebook profile page is really an edited representation of one’s self.  Whether the editing is conscious or not, there is always a decision in our minds whether to post a picture or comment or to keep our mouths shut (or more aptly, fingers stop tapping).

If I am any good at the art of persuasion and self-packaging, in time I may convince you to picture me as:

“Wings?” You may ask.  Well… why not wings – I get to fly away!  Seriously though, what I am going to do as a social experiment is that in one year’s time, I am going to take stock and find out through this blog and Cinnamon Spoon how realistic my online self is or if I managed to craft a dramatis personae that is too far-fetched for a humble Auckland gal.

I recall hearing from somewhere the description of a comic strip.  There is a dog tapping away furiously on his computer chatting with someone online.  His friend asks him why he spends so much time on the Internet and he replies, ‘Because online, they do not know that I am a dog.’

