{.just saying.}

by devourslowly

The starlet bats her eyelids.  It is impossible to miss her elegant long lashes.  The reporter fidgets uncomfortably in her seat, suddenly self conscious of her own stubby lashes.

‘Tell me about your childhood.  What was it like growing up in [insert name of town nobody has ever heard of that has only one telephone line and the whole township still goes to the local post office to send telegrams]?  Have you ever imagine you would be here today, on top of your game and nominated for an [insert irrelevant acting award name]?’

She runs her fingers through her long wavy hair.  Calculated carelessness.  The light reflected off her glossy mane is blinding.  The reporter weeps inwardly for her strawy strands.  Some people have all the luck.

‘Growing up in [insert name of chosen town as above] was incredibly difficult.  I was the M-O-S-T awkward teenager and was teased by all the popular girls.  I wanted desperately to fit in but no one ever showed me any kindness.  I ended up eating my lunch in a toilet cubicle for my whole senior year…’

‘I did not have any girl friends.  Everyone was nasty to me at school.  They used to call me names and throw food at me.’

The starlet drones on…

… and scene.

Perhaps I generalise grossly, but has anyone noticed that a lot of the actors/actresses had been bullied at one point or another?  Our cinema screens are populated with underdogs of the past who had conquered the social stigmatisation of a teenage nerd/geek/weirdo, rid their shells and blossomed into someone who is ‘talented’, ‘sought after’ or even ‘stunning’.  Interestingly enough just about all of them are still terribly insecure deep down despite making a living out of staying in the public limelight.

I can only think of two possible explanations:

  1. That the school bullying culture is prevalent.  So much so that it is an inescapable reality of anyone’s teenage life.  (I would like to say that I was never ever bullied at school and nor was I aware of any of my peers victims of serious bullying); or
  2. That there is a widespread desire to be good and relevant role models today in the theatrical class that results in every eager lamming putting his/her/its hand up as a former weirdo who suffered through school.

I have yet to read an interview of a young thespian who admits that he/she were objects of envy at school because of their stunning looks and superior (sometimes bitchy) presence; that part of their competitive edge is down to their good looks (and in some instances, hard work) and that they know they are beautiful and understand why millions salivate after their pictures.  Surely there is a way for one to be insightful and honest about their strengths without being arrogant and putting others down.

As for someone who courts and limelight and then calls himself/herself insecure … Pigs, flying high high in the sky… that is all I have to say.

