{.dilemma.}

by devourslowly


I recently received an invite to attend a fashion show.  Sounded fun enough.  I have never been to one of these shingdings and have no idea what ‘strutting your stuff’ means.  But I was told there will be champers and canapés so gladly accepted the offer.

Sadly, the euphoria lasted only a short while.

After speaking to a couple of friends, the show is currently on the top of my dread list.

Funny how when girls turn down an invite to a fashion show due to schedule clashes, the first question they ask is always,

So what are you going to wear?

Perhaps it was naïvety, I told them I hadn’t thought that far yet.  After all, it is a couple of weekends away!

Straight away they offered their theories.

One thinks to wear Karen Walker to a Karen Walker fashion show will expose me as a fashion victim.  Another thinks that not wearing Karen Walker to a Karen Walker fashion show will just be plain rude.  Miss Opinionated Number 3 thinks wearing Karen Walker to a Karen Walker fashion show will increase the likelihood of being caught in the same outfit as someone else (or many someone-elses) – apparently a faux pas.  Miss Know-it-All says that to not wear Karen Walker to a Karen Walker fashion show would be seen as a try-hard trying to be different.

OMG

Can I please just ask this – is there a dress code for fashion shows??

To think I was just going to wear what I feel like wearing on the day…


