{.accidental star.}

by devourslowly

I have a strange habit of noticing what I call background noises.  BNs are fillers, wallflowers (or wallweeds… operational word being wall).  Existentially, they are there to complete the scene.  Minor characters in a book, extras on a film set, the quiet sibling, the silent partner, celebrities’ posies/entourages, and some such.  BNs go unnoticed.  They sidestep the spotlight and let others do the shining.

I have a knack for spotting BNs.  Maybe it is because I am a bit of a BN myself.  What is so delicious is that these characters are often unexpected.  Ness and Smithy pretty much stole all the scenes in Gavin and Stacey; Olive and Emmerson had much better lines than Ned and Chuck; even Stiva and Dolly had more poetry than the eponymous Anna.

Just look at the chambermaid between 6.00 and 6.30 minutes into this clip.  I mean, Mrs Bennett is all loopy but the chambermaid’s eyes!

Also, did anyone notice the hilarious wrestling match between the big beefy guy and the little matchstick boy in Sixteen Candles when Jake Ryan was asking his jock friend about Sam Baker?

