{.annie leibovitz: a photographer’s life 1990-2005.}

by devourslowly

Patti Smith with her Children, Jackson and Jesse, St. Clair Shores, Michigan 1996.  Photograph © Annie Leibovitz.

My little Sydney excursion turned out to be slightly more than shopping and food. We were delighted when walking past the MCA (in search for food and loo) to find Annie Leibovitz ‘s photographs on show.  Trust the Sydneyites to cover half of the MCA with a blown up (and very stunning) Nicole Kidman. 

Thanks to Rolling Stone, Vanity Fair and Vogue, Leibovitz’s name had long become synonymous with celebrity portraits.  I expected images of Nicole Kidman, Cate Blanchett and all the other portraits made famous by Vanity Fair.  What I did not expect were family and other intimate shots.  I was particularly drawn to the pictures of Susan Sontag.  In one of the commentaries, Leibovitz wrote of taking time off when Sontag was going through treatment and photo-documented their time together.  The pictures were intimate, loving and sad even.  I felt almost like a voyeur spying on something that was so delicate and vulnerable.  It felt almost wrong to pry into someone’s privacy like this but the images were so beautiful I couldn’t take my eyes away…

