{.goji chicken soup.}

by devourslowly

I was inspired by James Wong’s programme to make my very own Chinese chicken soup.

When he described the goji berry chicken soup as a traditional Chinese remedy for cold and flu I found myself reminiscing good old-fashioned Chinese food.  The recent downpour that cooled down what is normally a hot and sticky Auckland summer serves as a great excuse for me to try out my own chicken soup.  SO addictive!

This is an adaptation of James Wong’s own recipe:

INGREDIENTS

1 whole free range chicken (I used one from the local Asian butcher which comes as a whole chicken – head, feet and all, I feel more Chinese that way)

1 big handful of julienned ginger and a bit more for good measure

10 cloves of garlic minced

1 onion sliced thinly

1 red chilli sliced thinly

1 big handful of shiitake mushrooms, soaked and sliced

300g of dried goji berries soaked

1 handful of chopped fresh coriander (optional)

  1. Dump everything in a big stock pot apart from the goji berries.
  2. Cover with water and boil boil boil.
  3. Give it a couple of hours until the soup turns dark brown.
  4. Skim the fat on the surface.  If you use a good quality free range chicken then there should be very little fat for you to skim.
  5. Put the goji berries into the soup and boil for another 15 minutes, make sure the berries are intact.
  6. Season soup to taste.
  7. Take the chicken out and shred.  (this is where I get rid of the head and feet)
  8. Dish up the soup and top with chicken and some fresh coriander if you have any.
  9. Wrap yourself up in a big blanket, cuddle up to the boy and slurp up the last drop of this fab soup!

Are you guys eating well still??

