{.spiced pumpkin double decker.}

by devourslowly

We had a lovely dinner at La Cigale the other night with some friends and thought having them over for cake and tea would be a good way to end the evening.  Although this summer heat has been especially punishing, I had been craving autumn flavours.  I think a lot of it had to do with the Pleasure Monger’s Pumpkin and Walnut (adapted from the Hummingbird Bakery’s carrot cake) that got me seriously on a pumpkin war path.  By the way, how AWESOME is the Pleasure Monger’s blog!

Being a copy-cat that I am, I too decided to consult my Hummingbird Bakery book for its carrot cake ingredients.  Too many spices and too little time for me to zoom around Auckland gathering ingredients I thought…  Time to get creative with what was in the pantry.

A ripe old butternut squash, handful of pistachio nuts, two cheeky spoonful of fennel seeds and violà!  My own version of a spiced pumpkin cake.  Went down a treat with our trustworthy Paris tea!  That or we have polite friends who dutifully did the obligatory ‘yuuuum-s’ and ‘ahhh-s’.  I always say it is not the food but the company that makes a good night.

Recipe to come…

